Roasted Pumpkin and Beets [Obsessed]

As previously stated, I am obsessed with pumpkin. Another obsession lately has been beets. Before this year I had only ever had beets out of can. Now that I have experienced the glory of roasting fresh from the garden beets, I don’t think I’ll be needing a can opener any time soon.

Roasted Pumpkin (along with some cauliflower)

Roasted Pumpkin:

1. Scrub the outside of the pumpkin, cut in half and scoop out the seeds (dry and roast them separately if you wish).

2. I cut my pumpkin into wedges so that it would cook quicker, and drizzled with olive oil and my go to spices: onion and garlic powder, pepper, and a touch of chili powder.

3. Roast at 350 degrees F for 45 minutes or until softened. Enjoy warm or as leftovers in a salad.


Beets for Dessert?

Roasting beets is fairly simple:

1. Scrub them well and cut off the ends, then cut into large chunks.

2. Create a large ‘pocket’ with foil on a baking sheet. Place beets in the foal, drizzle with olive oil and salt (or other spices of your choice) and roast for about an hour at 375 degrees F.

3. Enjoy warm (I topped mine with yogurt and called it dessert) or cold on salads, with breakfast… I know, obsessed.


I clearly cannot get enough veggies on my plate!

What autumn vegetables have you been roasting (or enjoying) lately?

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

