Condiments: Paleo-fied

Got Fries?

Nothing like losing yourself in a whirl of ketchup, salsa, and barbecue sauce to forget a less than stellar rainy day! After a quick stop at the grocery store for some essentials (tomatoes, tomatoes, tomatoes!), I came home and whipped up 3 of my favorite food toppers. This is Day 2 of the Whole30 and no added sugar, which means that I can no longer enjoy my usual mass quantities of store-bought ketchup and salsa.

I started the barbecue sauce using this recipe from Paleomg. Juli Bauer is amazing. I have yet to try a recipe of her’s that I didn’t like! I used this on baked pork chops and they were deliciously spicy and tender. The perfect rainy day dinner!

Check out the sweet potato!

Next up was the salsa. I have probably spent hours browsing and considering different salsa recipes. I finally decided to come up with my own recipe and it turned out amazingly well. I can’t wait to have it on my eggs in the morning! I am sure that true salsa making-eating-people would frown on my recipe since I do not have any hot peppers, but that’s okay-I don’t need too much spice in the morning!

~My Salsa~

Ingredients:

  • 4 tomatoes
  • 1 medium sized onion
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 red pepper
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 2-3 sprigs of fresh cilantro
  • cayenne pepper
  • salt

Directions:

1. Slice tomatoes into wedges, chop onion and peppers, and mince the garlic. Combine in a frying pan and let simmer until the vegetables have begun to cook down (approximately 30 minutes). The tomatoes should produce enough water to prevent anything from burning.

2. Puree the cilantro in a food processor. Be frugal-you can always add more!

3. Once the vegetable mixture has cooled, add to your processor. Add cayenne pepper and salt to taste. Process to the consistency that you prefer and enjoy!

And finally, my favorite reason for eating sweet potato fries: ketchup! I found this recipe on the Whole9 forum. And of course I had to try it out on a hard-boiled egg! I may never have to buy ketchup at the store again!

My new favorite snack!

Now for a few more scenes from the weekend…

Trader Joe’s! A store opened about an hour and a half from me (the downfall of Upstate NY!). The store was close where I was staying for the weekend for my race, so I was able to check it out. Unfortunately, it was crazy busy, and other than a few pictures of a pumpkin and squash (because I just can’t get enough!), I didn’t get anything else. Too many people pushing and shoving their way through the aisles had me feeling less than relaxed!

Do you make any special dressings, marinades etc.?

Have you visited a Trader Joe’s? What is your must buy product?

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Condiments: Paleo-fied

  1. Pingback: Breakfast Burrito Bowl | Adventures In Strength

  2. Pingback: Whole 30: How I’ve Survived! | Adventures In Strength

Leave a Reply

