Easy Chicken Soup [A Recipe]

I think the whole world is battle some type of cold, flu, sickness inducing germ. Or maybe just the people in my world. I have been battling a cold, which is hopefully nearing the end of its stay! By the sounds of it, I think I have gotten only a small dose of the germs that have been going around the school that I work at.

Last week all I wanted was chicken soup. And to sleep. Chicken soup always sounds good to me when I am sick. However, I don’t care much for the canned varieties of chicken soup. So I decided to make my own! Thankfully, I had most of the ingredients on hand and it came together in a flash! The warm broth, protein, and vitamin packed veggies were perfect to help fight my stuffy head misery and cold.

Chicken Soup

Chicken and Veggie Soup

Ingredients:

3 large chicken breasts

1 Container of chicken broth (preferably organic and low sodium)

1 Medium onion, chopped

2 Stalks of celery, chopped

2 Cups frozen green beans

3 Large carrots sliced into discs and steamed until soft

1 tsp onion powder

1 tsp garlic powder

Pepper and salt to taste

Method:

1. Place your chicken in a large soup pot. Season with onion powder, garlic powder, and pepper. Cover  and cook for 5-8 minutes. Then add your onion and celery and continue to cook until the chicken is cooked through and the vegetables are softened.

2. Once your chicken is cooked, remove it from the pot, and cut into chunks. Be careful-the chicken will be hot!

3. Put your chopped chicken back into the pot, add your broth, carrots, and green beans. Add salt and pepper to your taste (I like lots of pepper!) and simmer on low.

Note: I also add some roasted cauliflower that I had leftover-feel free to add any of your favorite vegetables!

I told you it was easy!!

How do you stay healthy during this germ season?

2 Comments

Filed under Recipes

2 responses to “Easy Chicken Soup [A Recipe]

  1. Molly

    Ugh, hope you feel better soon!! And this chicken soup sounds delicious 🙂 I’d eat it whether I was sick or not! I got a crock pot for Christmas, I wonder if I can just make the soup in that…hmmmm.

Leave a Reply

