Rainy Day Cure All: Vitamin D

Yup I said rainy day. Even though it is January. And I live in New York. Apparently Mother Nature is giving us a break from the freezing temperatures of last week. I’ll take it!

However, with the warmer temperatures comes rain, rain, and more rain. A little bit of sunshine and vitamin D would be nice! I have been reading from Christiane Northrup’s Women’s Bodies, Women’s Health text and she stresses the importance of vitamin D for your’ body’s well-being. Vitamin d is needed in order for your body to absorb and use calcium. This is why many calcium supplements also contain vitamin d.  According to Dr. Northrup, vitamin D is important for bone health and protects against autoimmune diseases, diabetes, depression, influenza, osteoporosis, and at least 17 different types of cancer. Dr. Northrup recommends 10,000 IU of vitamin D daily. This can be obtained by being in the sun for 15-20 minutes three days a week. However, for people living North of Washington D.C., this can be difficult. For those people, Dr. Northrup suggests going to a tanning booth for 10 minutes a week.

I know that I definitely get my fair share of sunshine during the summer months, but I also wear sunscreen to protect my skin. I am not sure that I could go to a tanning booth-even if it was for a good cause. I have heard too many horror stories about skin cancer. I have also had friends comment on the addictiveness of going to a tanning booth and how wonderful they feel afterwards. I can only think that those UVB rays are allowing their body to produce vitamin D, serving as a mood booster!

Because I do not plan on going to a tanning booth and I don’t think that the sun will be making an appearance any time soon, I will make sure that I am getting my vitamin D through supplements and the food that I eat. The supplement that I am currently taking is actually an immunity booster, Elderberry D3fense, made by Nature’s Sunshine. Each dose provides 2,000 IU of vitamin D. Foods high in vitamin d include: egg yolks, fish, mushrooms, and cod liver oil. I definitely eat plenty of eggs and mushrooms, but I wouldn’t mind eating more fish!

So, now that you know all about vitamin D and why it’s important, here are few other ways to boost your mood on during those dreary winter days:

1. Go for a walk, run, skip-just get moving! Exercise is my favorite mood booster. Just going for a walk with a friend (or my Mom on her lunch break!) makes the day so much brighter. Those endorphins get you every time!

2. Make plans to do something you love. Whether its what you’ll make for dinner or going to a new fitness class, having something to look forward to will take the focus off your not so wonderful mood. And suddenly you will be back to your happy self!

3. Watch this and smile. There is no way that you cannot feel immediately happy and grateful for all that you have. Soon enough, you’ll be on the road to awesome!

What I wish my walk looked like today!

What I wish my walk looked like today!

What do you think about tanning booths?

What is your favorite way to break through the rainy day blahs?

Leave a comment

Filed under Health

Leave a Reply

