Valentine’s Day Love: Coconut Almond Energy Bites

I have to admit that I kind of love Valentine’s Day. All of the red and pink, cute heart decorations, chocolate… But then again, I pretty much love every holiday and any excuse to buy special holiday food, decorations, etc… Anyways, remember those dates (haha) I bought? Well I put them to good use in a easy energy bite recipe. Similar to larabars, but lots cheaper!

Coconut Amond Energy Bites

Coconut Almond Energy Bites

Ingredients

  • 2 cups dates
  • 1 cup almonds
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut

Method

  1. In a food processor blend the dates. Add the almonds and blend. Add the coconut last and blend until the ingredients are evenly mixed.
  2. Form the mixture into balls, or flatten in a pan and cut into bars or bites. (Or hearts!)

Note: Add chocolate chips for a little extra Valentine’s Day love!

Happy Valentine’s Day!

 

What are your plans for Valentine’s Day?

5 Comments

Filed under Recipes

5 responses to “Valentine’s Day Love: Coconut Almond Energy Bites

  1. Molly

    I LOVE that these are in heart shapes 🙂 I need to get myself a food processor ASAP. I see recipes like this, and they’re so easy to make!, but I’m kind of missing a key tool haha

    No big plans for me for Vday. Justin & I are just staying in and cooking a meal together 🙂 We tend to keep the holiday low-key.

    • I couldn’t resist making them in the shape of hearts! 🙂 I received my food processor as a birthday present and it has become my favorite kitchen tool! I love it! Sometimes staying in is more relaxing than going out! Enjoy!

  2. I will need to get the dates (almost out), but thank you for posting this easy recipe. My son really loves Lara bars, so making these for him will be easy for us and not overly expensive!

  3. Pingback: Weigh-in, Gluten-Free Corn Dogs, Ice Cream, and Larabars | Honest Food with Amy

Leave a Reply

