Decisions.

Its no secret that I have trouble making decisions. Usually, it is the small things, like what to have when eating at a restaurant, or whether I should buy something. Larger decisions usually involve thinking on it for a few days (or weeks), talking it through with others, and then finally deciding. I thought I was getting better at not over-thinking and over-analyzing things, but lately I have been having trouble deciding even the smallest of things: which birthday card to choose, what to plan for my lunches through the week, which size shirt to buy, whether I should buy things that aren’t absolutely ‘necessary.’ And the list goes on. I have decided that this probably means that I am feeling a bit overwhelmed with my schedule and to-do list.

Ironically, the smaller the decision, the greater stress it causes. The decisions to be a nanny for the summer, run a cross country trail race, register for a half marathon all came fairly easily to me. Maybe because I am always up for a challenge and trying new things? Or maybe because they involve things that I am passionate about.

In the grand scheme of things, these decisions that I am stressing over are tiny. I probably won’t remember them in a week, much less a year. I have been learning how to make decisions or choices for my entire life. As a teacher, I give students choices. They have a choice to participate with the class or do their classwork during recess. Most of the time, my students make the right choice. I rarely see students agonizing over small choices like what to have for lunch or which game to play at recess. They follow their instincts and do what they want to do rather than analyzing the consequences or other options. The result: kids experience little to no stress when compared to adults!

I need to remind myself to follow my instincts-the first choice is usually the best choice! The worst decisions are the decisions that you don’t make. Rather than allowing the fear of making the wrong choice to take over, I’d rather jump in feet first. No matter the choice, there’s bound to be some learning and discovery along the way!

ChoicesSource

Do you ever get overwhelmed by choices or decisions?

2 Comments

Filed under Health, Life

2 responses to “Decisions.

  1. I can relate a lot to what you’ve said! I know that it’s best for me to follow my heart. I trust that the thoughts and my head are raising good points, but I try to lead with what my intuition says. I am impulsive but I’m learning to be grateful for it instead of making that sure part of me wrong! I hope that you can look at whatever it is that you’re thinking is a huge deal now and see it for what it is. I like the idea of looking at these decisions from a removed standpoint–will they matter down the road? Thanks for this and for the timing on it! 🙂

    • Thanks for your comment-I am glad that you were able to relate! I think we tend to get so caught up in everything that is going on around us and the pressures of daily life that we forget about the larger picture.

Leave a Reply

